16 vendors and the exchanges' own archives, side by side with Aperiodic on 40 criteria: what each sells, how far back it goes, how it timestamps, what it costs to start and how you get access. Every fact links to the vendor's own page, with the date we checked it.
Last updated October 5, 2026 · Re-checked weekly · Corrections: info@aperiodic.io
Compared
16 vendors
plus the exchanges’ own archives
Criteria
40
in five sections
Sourced facts
573
from 136 vendor pages
Last updated
October 5, 2026
every cell carries its own date
Reading a cellYesPartialNon/aVendor claimNot documentedNot disclosedNot verifiedOur judgementWhat each means
2Universe and integrityWhether the data is usable for systematic research at all: coverage, history and timestamps. These rows come before the feature list on purpose.
Coverage
Exchanges coveredVenue coverage as the vendor documents it. Marketing figures we could not check are marked as vendor claims.
Full instrument universe per venueWhether every listed instrument on a covered venue is collected, not only the large pairs. A partial universe biases cross-sectional research.
No source ·
No source ·
No source ·
No source ·
Delisted / expired instruments retainedWhether delisted and expired instruments stay queryable. Without them a backtest carries survivorship bias.
Aggregations computed on local-timestamp orderingWhether bars and metrics are built in receive-time order, which matches what you could have known at the time.
Compute you still have to do yourselfOur judgementOur judgement of how much computation stays with you.
Opinion ·
Opinion ·
Opinion ·
Opinion ·
4Access and commercialsDelivery, limits, pricing and how to get started. Vendors gate access on different dimensions, so read what the price gates before comparing prices.
Full historical data access on a monthly subscriptionWhether a month-to-month plan unlocks the whole history, or full history needs yearly billing or a contract.
5In one lineOur judgement, labelled as such. Opinion, not documented fact.
Best suited toOur judgementOur judgement of the job each vendor fits best.
Opinion ·
Opinion ·
Opinion ·
Opinion ·
Main gotchasOur judgementOur judgement: what to know before buying.
Opinion ·
Opinion ·
Opinion ·
Opinion ·
How to read a cell
Each cell leads with its status, then the detail that matters for that vendor, then the page it comes from and the date we checked it. Cells without a chip are plain documented values, such as a price or a date. Open any cell for its full text and every source.
Yes
Stated in the vendor's own public documentation.
Partial
True with a caveat, spelled out in the cell.
No
Not offered, per the vendor’s own documentation. A No is not a criticism: it can be the right call for what the product is.
n/a
The question does not apply to this kind of product.
Vendor claim
A marketing figure we could not check independently.
Not documented
We read the vendor’s own docs and they do not say. Ask the vendor.
Not disclosed
The vendor’s own pages do not name who operates it.
Not verified
We could not confirm it either way. Do not read it as a No.
Our judgement
Opinion, labelled as such. Not a documented fact.
What the table answers
Which crypto data vendors record when they received each message (local or receive timestamps)?
Yes: Tardis.dev, Aperiodic.io, CoinAPI, Crypto Lake, CoinDesk Data and Coin Metrics. With caveats: Kaiko and glassnode. Not verified yet: CoinGlass. The “Local / receive timestamp” row links each answer to the vendor's own page, with the date it was checked. See the row
Which vendors offer incremental L2 order book updates to rebuild the book?
Yes: Tardis.dev, Amberdata, CoinAPI, Kaiko, Crypto Lake and CoinDesk Data. With caveats: Exchange archives and Coin Metrics. The “L2 book, incremental updates” row links each answer to the vendor's own page, with the date it was checked. See the row
Which vendors keep delisted and expired instruments, to avoid survivorship bias?
Yes: Tardis.dev, Aperiodic.io, CoinAPI, Kaiko, CoinDesk Data, Velo, Laevitas and Coin Metrics. With caveats: Exchange archives, CryptoQuant, CoinGecko, CoinGlass and CoinMarketCap. Not verified yet: Amberdata, Crypto Lake, glassnode, Coinalyze and Hyblock Capital. The “Delisted / expired instruments retained” row links each answer to the vendor's own page, with the date it was checked. See the row
Which vendors deliver ready-made order flow metrics such as taker volume, CVD or VPIN?
Yes: Aperiodic.io, glassnode, Velo, Laevitas and CoinGlass. With caveats: Amberdata, Kaiko, CoinDesk Data, Coin Metrics, Coinalyze and Hyblock Capital. Not verified yet: CryptoQuant. The “Order flow and flow toxicity” row links each answer to the vendor's own page, with the date it was checked. See the row
Which vendors publish market impact or slippage metrics for execution research?
Yes: Amberdata, Aperiodic.io, Kaiko, CoinDesk Data, Coin Metrics and Hyblock Capital. With caveats: glassnode. Not verified yet: Laevitas. The “Market impact: Amihud, Kyle lambda” and “Execution slippage” rows link each answer to the vendor's own page, with the date it was checked. See the row
Which crypto data vendors give full historical data on a monthly subscription, without yearly billing?
Yes: Aperiodic.io and Exchange archives. With caveats: Coinalyze. Not verified yet: CoinAPI, glassnode, CryptoQuant, CoinGecko, CoinGlass and CoinMarketCap. The “Full historical data access on a monthly subscription” row links each answer to the vendor's own page, with the date it was checked. See the row
Which crypto data vendors can you try without an API key?
Yes: Tardis.dev, Aperiodic.io, Exchange archives, Crypto Lake, CoinGecko and Coin Metrics. With caveats: Kaiko and CoinMarketCap. Not verified yet: Velo and CryptoQuant. The “Usable without an API key” row links each answer to the vendor's own page, with the date it was checked. See the row
Which vendors let you sign up and pay without talking to sales?
Yes: Tardis.dev, Aperiodic.io, Exchange archives, CoinAPI, Crypto Lake, Velo, Laevitas, CryptoQuant, CoinGecko, CoinGlass, Coinalyze, Hyblock Capital and CoinMarketCap. With caveats: glassnode and Coin Metrics. Not verified yet: Amberdata. The “Self-serve signup” row links each answer to the vendor's own page, with the date it was checked. See the row
About this comparison
Who made this comparison, and is it independent?
Aperiodic built it, and Aperiodic is one of the columns, so it is not independent. We do not rank anyone, ourselves included. Facts come from each vendor's own public pages; rows marked “Our judgement” are opinion. Corrections go to info@aperiodic.io, including cells that are wrong in our favour.
How current is it?
Last updated October 5, 2026. Every cell shows the date its source was last checked. An automated re-check runs every week and proposes changes as a pull request that a person reviews before anything goes live; plan and price rows are re-checked at least every four weeks.
Which vendors are compared?
16 vendors and the exchanges' own archives, next to Aperiodic: Tardis.dev, Amberdata, Aperiodic.io, Exchange archives, CoinAPI, Kaiko, Crypto Lake, CoinDesk Data, glassnode, Velo, Laevitas, CryptoQuant, CoinGecko, Coin Metrics, CoinGlass, Coinalyze, Hyblock Capital and CoinMarketCap. It is a selection, not a complete list of the market.
One vendor at a time
Each profile carries every criterion for that vendor, its gotchas and its sources. The line under each name is our judgement.
Try the derived-metrics approach without an account
Aperiodic sells precomputed microstructure, liquidity and order flow metrics for Binance futures, OKX perps and Hyperliquid perps, plus the raw trades and quotes behind them. Self-serve plans bill monthly or yearly, and Prime includes the full history either way. If a raw archive above is what you need, buy that. If you want the metrics, the preview slice of every dataset downloads as parquet with no API key: