Vendor profile · Derived market metrics
Network and market data, plus computed metrics
Checked against Coin Metrics' own pages between July 28, 2026 and October 1, 2026
Built by Aperiodic, which sells data too. This profile reports what Coin Metrics' own pages say, each fact linked and dated. It is not a review and ranks no one. Wrong or out of date? Email info@aperiodic.io.
Opinion, from the facts below. Read them before you rely on it.
gitbook-docs.coinmetrics.io ↗ +1 · · due for re-check
What each vendor sells and who owns it.
Whether the data is usable for systematic research at all: coverage, history and timestamps. These rows come before the feature list on purpose.
Raw data types, and derived metrics delivered ready to use.
No source ·
No source ·
No source ·
Opinion ·
Delivery, limits, pricing and how to get started. Vendors gate access on different dimensions, so read what the price gates before comparing prices.
Other derived market metrics vendors on the rows buyers ask about first. Open them side by side in the full table.
| Coin Metrics | Amberdata | |
|---|---|---|
| Exchanges covered | 40+, 400k+ markets | 30+ exchanges, 6,365+ pairs across spot, futures, options |
| Earliest data available | July 2010 (BTC trades from Mt.Gox) | Order books from 2011 on select exchanges |
| Local / receive timestamp | YesFeed-handler clock on update rows | NoTrade and order book event schemas carry exchange timestamps only |
| L2 book, incremental updates | PartialHistorical updates only on supported exchanges, many markets from 2026-06-26 | YesEvery price-level event |
| Order flow and flow toxicity | PartialTrades carry taker side; no taker volume, CVD or VPIN series | PartialOrder book pressure |
| Entry price | Free community tier | On request |
| Full historical data access on a monthly subscription | NoFull history is an enterprise contract; the free community tier is limited | Not documentedPlans are quoted on request |
| Self-serve signup | PartialCommunity yes, Pro via sales | Not verified |
Every page this profile cites, with the date we last read it.
Coin Metrics docs: slippage
Market metrics at 1m, 5m, 1h, 1d; slippage e.g. liquidity_slippage_100K_ask_percent
Checked July 28, 2026
Coin Metrics docs: liquidity metrics
Liquidity family: bid-ask spread percent, order book depth, slippage, aggregated spread
Checked July 28, 2026
Coin Metrics Market Data Pro
Realized and implied volatility metric families; 400k+ markets on Market Data Pro
Checked July 28, 2026
Coin Metrics docs: market order books
Snapshots: top 100 and within 10% of mid every 10s (major markets), full book hourly capped at 30,000 levels; L3 aggregated to L2; historical updates from 2026-06-26 for many markets; books kept for delisted venues
Checked October 1, 2026
Talos: Talos to acquire Coin Metrics
Acquired by Talos, announced 16 July 2025
Checked October 1, 2026
Coin Metrics: updates to Community data
Community tier trimmed Oct 2025; Reference Rates, Research Asset Metrics, Atlas remain free
Checked July 28, 2026
Coin Metrics docs: Community data API
Community API: no key, 10 requests per 6 seconds per IP; Atlas 30 days on limited assets; Reference Rates last 7 points at granular resolutions; paid ~300 req/s
Checked October 1, 2026
Coin Metrics docs: market trades
Instrument universe: Yes for trades, collected from listing day; 10s book snapshots on major markets only. Earliest data: July 2010 (BTC trades from Mt.Gox); history per venue capped by what the exchange exposes; Order flow: Partial, trades carry taker side
Checked October 1, 2026
Coin Metrics docs: market candles (checked, bucketing key not stated)
Candle bucketing key not stated outright; candles re-verified against late-arriving trades within about three hours
Checked October 1, 2026
Coin Metrics
coinmetrics.ioSimilar vendors