Vendor profile · Derived market metrics
Market, derivatives and on-chain data with analytics, incl. GVOL options
Checked against Amberdata's own pages between July 28, 2026 and October 1, 2026
Built by Aperiodic, which sells data too. This profile reports what Amberdata's own pages say, each fact linked and dated. It is not a review and ranks no one. Wrong or out of date? Email info@aperiodic.io.
Opinion, from the facts below. Read them before you rely on it.
docs.amberdata.io ↗ +1 ·
docs.amberdata.io ↗ +1 ·
amberdata.io ↗ +2 ·
No source ·
What each vendor sells and who owns it.
Whether the data is usable for systematic research at all: coverage, history and timestamps. These rows come before the feature list on purpose.
No source ·
Checked
Raw data types, and derived metrics delivered ready to use.
Checked
Checked
Checked
Checked
No source ·
Checked
Checked
Opinion ·
Delivery, limits, pricing and how to get started. Vendors gate access on different dimensions, so read what the price gates before comparing prices.
Checked
Checked · due for re-check
Checked · due for re-check
Checked
Checked
Checked
No source ·
Other derived market metrics vendors on the rows buyers ask about first. Open them side by side in the full table.
| Amberdata | Coin Metrics | |
|---|---|---|
| Exchanges covered | 30+ exchanges, 6,365+ pairs across spot, futures, options | 40+, 400k+ markets |
| Earliest data available | Order books from 2011 on select exchanges | July 2010 (BTC trades from Mt.Gox) |
| Local / receive timestamp | NoTrade and order book event schemas carry exchange timestamps only | YesFeed-handler clock on update rows |
| L2 book, incremental updates | YesEvery price-level event | PartialHistorical updates only on supported exchanges, many markets from 2026-06-26 |
| Order flow and flow toxicity | PartialOrder book pressure | PartialTrades carry taker side; no taker volume, CVD or VPIN series |
| Entry price | On request | Free community tier |
| Full historical data access on a monthly subscription | Not documentedPlans are quoted on request | NoFull history is an enterprise contract; the free community tier is limited |
| Self-serve signup | Not verified | PartialCommunity yes, Pro via sales |
Every page this profile cites, with the date we last read it.
Kaiko news: Kaiko acquires Amberdata
Acquired Amberdata, incl. GVOL options analytics; announced June 2026
Checked October 1, 2026
Amberdata analytics
Price impact, slippage, liquidity-weighted average price, order book pressure and depth. Delivery via REST API, cloud platforms, AWS S3 and dashboards
Checked July 28, 2026
Amberdata derivatives analytics and Deribit market data
Realized and implied volatility, vol surfaces, skew, term structure, gamma, OI
Checked July 28, 2026
Amberdata market data tiers
Basic tier excludes granular order book; higher tier adds low-latency order book access
Checked July 28, 2026
Amberdata docs: market overview and order books
30+ exchanges, 6,365+ pairs; order book events and 1-minute snapshots, from 2011 on select venues; REST, WS, S3, Snowflake, BigQuery, Databricks
Checked October 1, 2026
Amberdata changelog: REST historical order book limited
REST order book history limited to 18 months since May 2025; deeper via bulk delivery
Checked October 1, 2026
Amberdata docs: order books and market FAQs
Instrument universe: Yes, order books for every pair on supported exchanges; venues are a curated top-volume set
Checked October 1, 2026
Amberdata docs: spot trades
Exchange timestamp: Yes, trades and order book events carry exchangeTimestamp with nanoseconds; Receive timestamp: No, trade and order book event schemas carry exchange timestamps only
Checked October 1, 2026
Amberdata docs: spot trade frequency
Trade size: Yes, trade counts and volume by USD size bucket (0-1k to 100k+), spot only
Checked October 1, 2026
Amberdata docs: OHLCV
Intervals: OHLCV at 1 minute, 1 hour, 1 day; order book snapshots every minute
Checked October 1, 2026
Amberdata docs: HTTP API fundamentals
API key: No, every request needs an API key
Checked October 1, 2026
Amberdata docs: OHLCV and trades (checked, bar timestamp and revisions not stated)
Bar build timestamp and revision policy not stated
Checked October 1, 2026
Amberdata pricing
No dollar figures; plans with a request-a-quote form. Also cited on aperiodic.io/compare/aperiodic-vs-amberdata.
Checked September 25, 2026
Amberdata
amberdata.ioSimilar vendors